State Funding Allocations

FY 2020 State Allocations

Allocation Formula for SEDAP only

The DRA-enabling legislation requires the Authority to update distressed county designations annually. The following calculations reflect these updates.

2020 Allocation Methodology

Factors used in determining 2020 Allocation:

Factor Weight

Equity Factor (divided equally among eight states)  


Distressed Population (DRA counties/parishes only)


Distressed County Area (DRA counties/parishes only)


Population Factor (DRA counties/parishes only)


The model includes factors using 2020 distressed counties ddata (based on 2018 Per Capita Income from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and average unemployment from November 2017 to October 2019 national unemployment rate from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) to determine each state's allocated percentage of the total budgeted for SEDAP.

The table below shows the Fiscal Year 2020 states' allocations

  Share of Funding Funding Allocation
Alabama 10.26% $   1,454,239.14
Arkansas 14.60% $   2,068,161.88
Illinois   8.36% $   1,185,208.84
Kentucky   9.29% $   1,316,270.21
Louisiana 19.80% $   2,805,548.41
Mississippi 15.41% $   2,183,838.07
Missouri 11.37% $   1,611,112.41
Tennessee 10.91% $   1,545,621.04
TOTAL 100.00% $ 14,170,000.00

Additional information and detail regarding the DRA’s annual budget can be found in the agency’s Performance and Accountability Report completed at the end of each fiscal year. For the PARs from the past three years, click here.