DRA Welcomes Ten Healthcare Facilities to the DRCHSD Technical Assistance Program

February 17, 2021

Cohort 2020 includes rural health care facilities from Alabama, Missouri, and Mississippi.

CLARKSDALE, MS – The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) today announced ten additional healthcare facilities chosen to participate in the Delta Region Community Health Systems Development – Technical Assistance Program (DRCHSD), which enhances healthcare delivery in the Delta through intensive, in-depth and long-term technical assistance to rural hospitals and medical facilities.

In 2017, DRA partnered with the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to establish the DRCHSD program.  The technical assistance, provided by subject matter experts at the National Rural Health Resource Center, supports capacity building for quality improvement, telehealth, and integration of social services to help healthcare facilities increase financial viability and operational efficiency.

“We’re proud that four Missouri hospitals have been chosen to participate in this program,” said Missouri Governor and DRA States’ Co-Chairman Mike Parson. “This program is making a positive impact on rural health care institutions all across the Delta region during a time when our citizens need it most.”

“The challenges faced by rural healthcare facilities to provide essential care and services to their residents are many,” said DRA Spokeswoman Shawna Blair. “The Delta Region Community Health System Development program assists these facilities by identifying and addressing healthcare needs while strengthening the local healthcare system.  The program is a vital asset to rural Delta communities, and DRA is thankful for our partners at HRSA’s Federal Office of Rural Health Policy and the National Rural Health Resource Center who support and prioritize rural healthcare access throughout our region.”

The following ten healthcare facilities were selected for the DRCHSD Cohort 2020.


Greene County Hospital
Greene County Hospital is a 20-bed, small rural hospital located in Eutaw, Alabama.

Grove Hill Memorial Hospital
Grove Hill Memorial Hospital is a 50-bed, small rural hospital located in Grove Hill, Alabama.

Monroe County Hospital
Monroe County Hospital is a 94-bed, small rural hospital located in Monroeville, Alabama.


Claiborne County Medical Center
Claiborne County Medical Center is a critical access hospital located in Port Gibson, Mississippi.

Tunica Resorts Medical Clinic
Tunica Resorts Medical Clinic is a rural health clinic located in Tunica, Mississippi.

Urgent & Primary Care of Clarksdale
Urgent & Primary Care of Clarksdale is a clinic located in Clarksdale, Mississippi.


Great Mines Health Center
Great Mines Health Center is a federally qualified health clinic located in Potosi, Missouri.

Missouri Delta Medical Center
Missouri Delta Medical Center is a 120-bed, small rural hospital located in Sikeston, Missouri.

Perry County Memorial Hospital
Perry County Memorial Hospital is a critical access hospital located in Perryville, Missouri.

Washington County Memorial Hospital
Washington County Memorial Hospital is a 25-bed critical access hospital located in Potosi, Missouri.

“I am pleased that DRA has selected the hospitals in Eutaw, Grove Hill, and Monroeville to receive this important funding,” said U.S. Senator Richard Shelby (AL).  “These grants will help these rural hospitals by providing long-term technical assistance to increase their economic sustainability and capacity to deliver high-quality health care services.  I welcome the positive impact that this funding will have in these rural communities and the surrounding region.”

“The addition of three Mississippi health care facilities to this program will provide a major benefit to the surrounding communities,” U.S. Senator Roger Wicker (MS) said. “The hands-on technical assistance will help to strengthen the health care providers and increase access to quality health care for residents.”

“The technical assistance offered by the Delta Regional Authority and its partners is designed to help rural hospitals and clinics navigate the ever-increasing challenges to providing care and services to Mississippians,” U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (MS) said.  “I’m pleased with the inclusion of new Mississippi providers to this program, and look forward to working hand-in-hand with the DRA to continue to improve health care in our state.”

“The coronavirus pandemic has reinforced how important it is for people in rural areas to be able to get care close to home or through telehealth,” said U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (MO). “The Delta Region Community Health Systems Development program helps smaller rural hospitals address the unique challenges they face so they will remain accessible over the long term. I’m glad to see more Missouri health centers will benefit from the program at this especially critical time.”

“Across the country, rural healthcare facilities are pushing through the added strain of serving our communities during the pandemic,” U.S. Senator Josh Hawley (MO) said. “The Delta Regional Authority should be commended for its investment in better care and increased access to telehealth services throughout Southeast Missouri.”


About the Delta Regional Authority

The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) is a federal-state partnership created by Congress in 2000 to promote and encourage the economic development of the lower Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt.  DRA invests in projects supporting transportation infrastructure, basic public infrastructure, workforce training, and business development.  DRA’s mission is to help create jobs, build communities, and improve the lives of those who reside in the 252 counties and parishes of the eight-state region.

DRA Media Contact:
Shawna Blair
Director of Communications and Public Engagement