Media Advisory: DRA Chairwoman Leslie Durham Joins Secretary Ava Cates, Mayor LaToya Cantrell

January 07, 2022

NEW ORLEANS - Delta Regional Authority (DRA) Alternate Federal Co-Chairwoman Leslie Durham will be joined by Louisiana Workforce Commission Secretary Ava Cates, New Orleans Mayor LaToya Cantrell, and additional Louisiana leaders to announce $1.9 Million in investments through the 2021 Delta Workforce Grant Program. The program invests federal resources across the Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions particularly hard hit by industrial downsizing, business closures, and job losses as a result of the public health and economic crises.

Chairwoman Leslie Durham, Delta Regional Authority
Secretary Ava Cates, Louisiana Workforce Commission
Mayor LaToya Cantrell, City of New Orleans
Michael Hecht, President & CEO, Greater New Orleans Inc.
Adam Bourne, President & Instructor, New Orleans Technical Education Provider
Rep. Royce Duplessis, Louisiana State Representative – District 93
Riley Kennedy, Director of Organizational Development, Woodward Design+Build
Henderson Lewis, Superintendent, New Orleans Public Schools
Roderick Scott, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, State of Louisiana
Brian McNabb, State Director, Office of U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy
Demetric Mercadel, District Director, Office of U.S. Representative Troy Carter

Thursday, January 13, 2022
10:30 – 11:30 AM CT

Greater New Orleans, Inc.
1100 Poydras Street, Suite 3475
New Orleans, LA 70163

*Media are asked to RSVP to by COB Wednesday, January 12th if planning to attend.


About the Delta Regional Authority

The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) is a federal-state partnership created by Congress in 2000 to promote and encourage the economic development of the lower Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt.  DRA invests in projects supporting transportation infrastructure, basic public infrastructure, workforce training, and business development.  DRA’s mission is to help create jobs, build communities, and improve the lives of those who reside in the 252 counties and parishes of the eight-state region.

DRA Media Contact:
Shawna Blair